Writing

Apsis

Noah Eli Gordon’s prompts for today were a buffet of mesmerizing prompts. Ten in all. I was spoilt for choice. I intend to work on all his suggestions but for the time being, I’ve chosen prompt no 5 for today’s Prompt#6

This is what he asked us to do:

Write a sonnet in the modern key:

Line 1: narrate action, include at least two nouns
Line 2: ask a question without using “I”
Line 3: make a statement without saying “I”
Line 4: now say “I” in another statement
Line 5: use a fragment
Line 6: narrate another action, include one of the nouns from line 1
Line 7: ask a question using “I”
Line 8: use a fragment that
Line 9: spills into the next line
Line 10: now say “I” and include the other noun from line 1
Line 11: answer your first question
Line 12: make a statement that is in total opposition to line 3
Line 13: combine phrases from lines 5 and 8 here
Line 14: answer your second question

I don’t know how far I’ve maintained the structure of a sonnet, but this is what I came up with :

 

Yesterday the wind looked for you in sunspots and twilight
Were you there?
Embedded in the coterie of drunken emotions
I fetched the eastern-end apsis
captured your fleeting figure
found you in twilight’s aisles
Did I see an illusion?
Strapping my eyes
like a latitude of yearning
I found you splayed inside sunspots like stain-glass light
In the basilica of my heart, that’s where you were
Stenciled in pure awakening
Your figure strapping me to this universe
No illusion this…your breath against my skin.

Standard

Leave a Reply

